🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Hunger to Write

Started by
17 comments, last by sunandshadow 21 years, 3 months ago
I was sitting here at my computer as usual, and I suddenly felt like, "Gee, I want to write something!" Not an unusual feeling for me, I am a writer after all. So I looked at my 3 current writing projects (Bad habit of mine - you write better if you only work on one thing at a time. On the other hand, writing nothing because you don''t feel like working on your designated ''current project'' is worse.). I was looking at these files, and I realized, "Well, yes I want to write. Rather eagerly, actually. But I don''t want to write _this_." The obvious next question being, "Well, what''s wrong with this, and what _would_ I like to write? Are there different kinds of urges to write, that writing something will satisfy your urge one day but not the next?" IMO, a good analogy for the urge to write is hunger, specifically cravings that you get when you run short on this vitamin or that mineral. Of course there are habitual cravings too - all my friends know that if you want to bribe me you just have to show up with salt and vinegar chips or eclairs. ^_~ So I, personally, always hunger to write science fiction, usually hunger to write romance, and sometimes hunger to write about particular motifs or atmospheres or character dynamics. Now, here''s where things become complicated. How do you make sure that you have the right sort of writing project for your hunger, or the right sort of hunger for your story project? Various writers throughout history have discovered that if they live like hermits (deprive themselves of the ''vitamin'' of socialization, if you will), they have move desire to write. It is documented fact that lonely people, particularly those in a look-but-don''t-touch situati