🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

MIDI Editing / Creation Software

Started by
5 comments, last by wilsonao 21 years, 1 month ago
I saw there were some other threads asking about sound software but I have a more specific question. I am a 20-year-old composer and I have a broad experience in music so you could say I know what I''m doing with the stuff. Does anyone know of any good MIDI editing and creation software? Right now I basically compose all my stuff in Finale but the MIDI with that leaves a lot to be desired. I wonder if this board accepts Japanese... Only one way to find out... ‚Ü‚Á‚½‚ˁI
Look! A signature!
Advertisement
Japanese didnt work on my computer....

If you want stuff to look nice on paper then finale is just about the best. But if you want it to sound real nice, you need to use a proper midi sequencer.

Do you need it to look nice AS WELL as sound nice? and what kind of music you produce? The ability to make stuff look right on a score and have the freedom to mess around with midi and make it sound spot on aswell, with the right feel and everything, seems to have eluded most music software manufacturers. I know.... I did a whole module trying to answer that question at Uni!

Seeing as you are using finale now Im guessing budget isnt a massive problem. Try the demos of ''VSTscore'' or ''VST32'' or ''SX'' versions of cubase, they all have very good scoring and sequncing facilities. I believe the latest versions of Logic Audio and Digital performer are equally good but I cannot vouch for them personally.

Goto sound on sound website and forum(perhaps I shouldnt say that!!), there is loads of good advice there...

-------------------------------------------
wiggly-worm.com - Media Music Factory...
-