🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

newbie programmer

Started by
6 comments, last by nin syn goth 23 years, 11 months ago
Hello.I just started learning how to program with c/c++,and i was wondering where i should start in game programming.Web sites say i should build a tetris clone as a start.So my question is,can anyone tell where i could find page or online book on how to make a tetris game??
Advertisement
hahaha...

sorry, don''t mean to be rude by laughing... this sounds kinda familiar to a recent post looking for a "how to write a game" tutorial... they don''t exist. The closest you''ll ever find is what you get in Andre LaMothe''s "Teach Yourself Game Programming in 21 Days" by Sams Publishing. And that''s not really close enough.

Here''s a hint, though: learn C/C++ (I suggest just learning C first, get an idea of procedural programming, understand how C works, then move onto objects and encapsulation and all the neat little things they''ve put into C++ (well the neat things that your compiler supports...))

Once you''ve learned C/C++, and you''ve got an idea of how to take abstract concepts and chop them up into groups of pieces, and take those pieces and chop them up into short procedures that you can implement in code... THEN you can start thinking about games. USE YOUR IMAGINATION!