🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

RPG world dynamics

Started by
7 comments, last by shaggynick 23 years, 10 months ago
Hey everyone. I replied to a few posts and felt I should continue with my train of thought in a new post. I just wanted to relay what I feel is one of the greatest aspects to RPG design. The dynamics of the game world itself. As a designer I sit down and figure out my game world before I even begin work on the design of the gameplay or game issues. I figure out what type of world the player is going to be thrown into. What is the scope of exploration. What cultures and races are inhabiting my game world. What is technological aspect of this world. What is the geography of the world. Does evironmental changes such as snow, wind, etc. play a part in my game. I just feel from talking to some people and playing a few games that claim to be RPG''s that this aspect has been under developed or lost. Granted this is just my feeling. What does everyone else think?
Advertisement
1) RPGs ARE underdeveloped... if there are any CRPG''s left...
2) There needs to be a lot more effort put into the creation of socalled RPGs!

I agree totally with you, BRING BACK THE ROLE! THEN WE CAN ALL PLAY!

Damn... list of quotes then goes to:
"Bring Back the Role! Then we can all play and End Goblin Genocide because NPCs are people too!"

-Chris Bennett ("Insanity" of Dwarfsoft)

Check our site:
http://www.crosswinds.net/~dwarfsoft/
Check out our NPC AI Mailing List :
http://www.egroups.com/group/NPCAI/
made due to popular demand here at GDNet :)
yeah,