🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Making interesting characters

Started by
18 comments, last by GameDev.net 19 years, 9 months ago
I'm very new at this story writting thing, so I need some help on character development. I guess that everybody knows that the way characters interact are very important in the game story, so I wonder how can you make a very interesting character? I have played a lot of RPGs, and find that sometimes the character development in the story keeps the same pattern. I mean that sometimes the characters are the same, for example, often there is a misterious guy who doesn't care about anything but himself, cold blooded, killing machine, etc.. My point is, how do you do to make a character that isn't limited to the classical pattern. I need a character that plays more enphasis on the story itself, not in the battle system (I don't want a Killing machine!) or other less important things. If manage to get a very interesting story, I'll get a very good game, that's the rule. What's the point of playing a very good 3D RPG game with great music and graphics, if the story and the characters are there for no purpose at all? Any ideas will be appreciated!
I know my English sucks, so please I only ask for some patience. :)
Advertisement

Choosing good names is important. I often read stories with really sterotypical character names that don't really sound real, and it sort of ruins my interest right away. "Trendale" or "Dartok", for example. "Ferrari" and "Ugarte" from Casablanca are examples of names I like a lot.

I've spent a few months now juggling names for a certain character, and I still haven't managed to pin one down. I'm willing to take months more, if I have to. (I wish "Ferrari" wasn't taken.)