🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Tell me a story. . .

Started by
6 comments, last by Tom 20 years, 7 months ago
Hi everyone. This will probably be a long and very opinionated topic if I get half the response I''m hoping for. I''d like some input on a story idea I have. Or rather, an idea I''ve had for years and am just now refining. We have a world divided into four nations on the mainland. There was a war going on between two of them until just recently. The war began as a result of religious differences. To be more specific, one of the nations practiced some very unorthodox forms of magic, and another nation resisted violently. I don''t want to be too specific, because my background is FREAKIN'' HUGE. I''ve done a ton of extra development over the last week, and it essentially doubled in size. Now, here is my predicament. This war began over religious differences. It lasted for hundreds of years. Now, it''s not likely that a war over beliefs will last hundreds of years. I need some reasons as to why this war continued for so long. Here is a little background to help out: Only two of the nations have been in direct conflict during the war. The other two nations provided assistance but were not involved in any major battles. So, what we have is a large-scale racial war. The dark elves follow a religion that is starkly opposite to that of all the other elves. They began practicing magic that affected the soul. To the other elves, affecting or even studying the soul is vulgar heresy. I mean, it''s number-one on the list of "worst things you can possibly do." The Soleri, a race or elves that I''ve based on Japanese culture, did not like this. They sent some spies over to find out if the rumors were true, and once verified, they commenced with the whoop-ass. This war was dragged on for centuries. Wh