🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

A programming game!?

Started by
25 comments, last by Rhaal 19 years, 4 months ago
I'm not sure where this should go, but I have a sugestion for a game that might be fun, and that would definatly be usefull! Now, I'm just getting into OpenGL, and the more advanced (more fun) parts of C++, but every time I program, I have one big problem! And I'm more than certain that it's more than just me, who has this problem. Okay, so lets stop ranting, and get to the explaining huh? okay Every time i program or for that matter script on my page, every thing is going fine, until i build the program, or test run the script. Not always, but most of the times, it wont run... why? Well, it might be a missing a ";" at the end of a line, a slip of the hand while typing "windowClass.somethingsomething", maybe I lack a "="(in the "==") in a if/else statement. Whatever it is, it's normally smale, and even thought I of course have bigger mistakes then these small mistakes, they are the most anoying... right? "Bugs" are anoying, and sometimes can be a hard thing to find. What I would like to see, is a game, you can choose the language, i.e. basic C++, OpenGL, DirectX, Perl, PHP, Java... If the game is a sucsess, then why not add more eh? :) Starting the game easy, it gives you a simple code, with an error. You have to find the error, then fix it. At each "level" the code gets longer, and more advanced, and there are more bugs. You work against time, and get points for the bugs you find. Basicly, i think this will help all programmers find these nasty little "bugs" faster, and get better at debugging, at the same time, we will get better at coding and maybe even learn something. Any coments?
Advertisement
Quote: Original post by DarkWolf AS