Advertisement

Need help starting an fps

Started by February 14, 2005 03:32 AM
22 comments, last by pheonix2468 19 years, 7 months ago
OK ill be honest im not that good at codeing. Im pretty new and i want to make an fps, i know how to do quads and stuff so i can make the levels and stuff but i need help to get started on keyboard interaction (say W,S,A,D) for movement and the mouse to look around. I have experience with basic4gl wich is a bit like c++ but with some differences like (int(in c++) is dim(in basic4gl)) but i lost most of my code for that.PLZ could you guys help me as i ant to get started in fps's.
Erm, you have no chance what so ever of creating a FPS if you are "not that good at codeing" (which is coding btw :-P)

i suggest you keep on programming, do some smaller projects just to get a feel for openGL and perfect your C++ skills, then try and tackle a FPS.

hope that helps
-Dan
When General Patton died after World War 2 he went to the gates of Heaven to talk to St. Peter. The first thing he asked is if there were any Marines in heaven. St. Peter told him no, Marines are too rowdy for heaven. He then asked why Patton wanted to know. Patton told him he was sick of the Marines overshadowing the Army because they did more with less and were all hard-core sons of bitches. St. Peter reassured him there were no Marines so Patton went into Heaven. As he was checking out his new home he rounded a corner and saw someone in Marine Dress Blues. He ran back to St. Peter and yelled "You lied to me! There are Marines in heaven!" St. Peter said "Who him? That's just God. He wishes he were a Marine."
Advertisement
I don't meen to be rough or to break down your dreams... but Ademan555 is completely right.

Doing an FPS is a complete overkill for someone working alone, and with little coding skills. Start small. Try to make small demo programs, learning something new with everyone of them... just gathering knowledge and learning.