🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Total beginner exec problems

Started by
7 comments, last by WitchLord 19 years, 2 months ago
I've just downloaded angelscript and have tried to make a simple program based on the sample and the documentation. Here is my code:
#include <iostream>
#include <string>

#pragma comment(lib, "angelscriptd.lib")
#include "angelscript.h"

int i;

void print(char c)
{
	std::cout << "print()" << c << std::endl;
}

int main()
{
	asIScriptEngine *engine = asCreateScriptEngine(ANGELSCRIPT_VERSION);
	if(engine == 0)
	{
		std::cout << "Failed to create script engine\n";
		return -1;
	}

engine->RegisterGlobalProperty("int i", &i);

engine->RegisterGlobalFunction("void print(char)", asFUNCTION(print), asCALL_CDECL);

std::string input;

for(;;)
	{
		std::cin >> input;
		if(input == "q")
			break;

int r = engine->ExecuteString(0, input.c_str());
		if(r < 0)
			std::cout << "Invalid script statement.\n";
		else if(r == asEXECUTION_EXCEPTION)
			std::cout << "A script exception was raised.\n";
	}

engine->Release();

return 0;
}
As you can see I'm trying to execute whatever is typed into the console. However I always get an "Invalid script statement." error. I've tried typing many things into the console from i = i + 1; to print("d");. Both with and without the semi-colon (as I don't think it is used in the sample). Where am I going wrong?
____________________________________________________________Programmers Resource Central
Advertisement
Hi Tera_Dragon,

I'm glad you've decided to try out AngelScript. I'll do my best to make it as easy for you as possible.

You've made a few mistakes, otherwise you seem to have understood how AS works.

engine->RegisterGlobalFunction("void print(char)", asFUNCTION(print), asCALL_CDECL);