🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Online Game Community Design

Started by
3 comments, last by friedl_markus 23 years, 7 months ago
Hello to Everybody! My name is Markus Friedl, 22 years old, and I am currently studying "communications techniques and design" in Austria (for more information about my course maybe you want to visit www.fh-vorarlberg.ac.at). I am now in my last semester of my studies and currently prepare my thesis dissertation. It will be on "Game Design for Online Games" in general with a special focus on "Community Design for Online Gaems" and its importance for the overall design process. In my dissertation I mainly want to focus on "real" online games (so no flash or shockwave). However I would be really interested in hearing from you all how you would define "multiplayer online game" or "massive multiplayer online game"????? I want to work out the design process itself (game balance, mood creation, storytelling,...), discuss different technical solutions (networking, latency, security, ...) and try to search for some "non-convential" AI-solutions. But my focus will be on *community design* (psychology, socialization, law, administration, ...) and its impact on the design. Now my question: Does anybody know some resources on that topics (besides gamasutra, gamedev, gdmag) that he/she thinks might be useful for my research. Maybe anybody of you has already made some experience and may want to share his/her knowledge with me. That would be really great! Greetings to you all from Austria and thank you very much in advance! Markus
Markus FriedlProgrammer, Designer, Visionaire :)Vogelweiderstr. 7A-6020 InnsbruckAustria
Advertisement