🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

pass by handle to C++ question..

Started by
4 comments, last by AlphaDog 19 years, 1 month ago
I'm pretty new to AngelScript, but I really like what I see and I am finding it very easy to use.. But I have one question. I need to pass an object by its handle to a C++ function. I have the object registered with: asOBJ_CLASS | asOBJ_CLASS_CONSTRUCTOR | asOBJ_CLASS_DESTRUCTOR| asOBJ_CLASS_ASSIGNMENT and the following behaviors defined: asBEHAVE_ADDREF,asBEHAVE_RELEASE,asBEHAVE_DESTRUCT,asBEHAVE_CONSTRUCT,asBEHAVE_ASSIGNMENT If I want to pass this object as a pointer ( handle ) back to a C++ function I would do the following in AngelScript: Object obj; dumpObj(@obj); and the C++ function looks like this: void dumpObj( Object *pObj) { std::cout << (*pObj) << std::endl; } I may be missing something simple, does the AngelScript code above create a dangling handle that does not get released. I think I'm missing something really obvious... Thanks, Scott
[size=1]'Behold! It is not over unknown seas but back over well-known years that your quest must go; back to the bright strange things of infancy and the quick sun-drenched glimpses of magic that old scenes brought to wide young eyes.'
Advertisement
Hi Scott,

I'm pleased that you like AngelScript. Let me know if there is something you think can be improved.

You don't need to register the asBEHAVE_DESTRUCT behaviour if you register asBEHAVE_ADDREF and asBEHAVE_RELEASE, because the library will never call the destructor. It will just call the release behaviour and expect that method to free the object when no more references are held.