🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Map making...

Started by
5 comments, last by ahw 23 years, 6 months ago
So, is map making a form of art. Did you ever do a map for a game ? If so, what are the main things you worry about ? I am interested in that because I like the fact that you can actually do some pretty cool looking maps, but sometimes the polygon budget just makes you cut down the fancy details. Personally, I love making cool looking outdoors, but more than often I end up with unbelievable poly counts... but I am getting there. I have been working on Halflife for the last two years (or so), and I am getting fairly happy with my work. My main concerns are the architectural design, the style of the constructions if you will. And the lighting. God, you an do so much with lighting it's a shame it's so underused in usermade maps. In one of my maps, as a sort of exercise, I used a same texture in different rooms but with the different lightings you get totally different feelings/textures. Today, I was working on a water room. A sort of hamam thing that I have in mind. I spend most of the afternoon doing the lightings, and working on the curves of my walls. Here it is : So, any one care to share their views ? youpla :-P Edited by - ahw on 12/27/00 3:17:03 PM
-----------------------------Sancte Isidore ora pro nobis !
Advertisement
Hi again,

I''ve never made any maps (only models) but I have to learn it for my own work.

Can''t you make a new tutorial about it?

btw. Your map looks very nice, good lighting too.
maps can be anything that you can walk on. i do prerendered backgrounds. they are great to do and yes it is art if they are interesting enough and not boring to lookat