🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

For What Genre is My Game Suited?

Started by
2 comments, last by Santarr 18 years, 4 months ago
Greetings to the GameDev.net community! Hi, my name is Jamie and I am a new member on this site. I am working on my first game project, though I have practiced developing simple games before. I have some experience with computer programming and short story writing and I am learning high level languages. I am attempting to make it as original as I can, but also interesting for people to like it. Once this storyline is totally complete I will employed it in an adventure type of game, but after reconsidering I think it may be more suited for an RPTS. Please review it and advise me as to what game genre is this story best suited so I can continue my project. The story is about 12 false gods who escaped to a planet and enslaved the native species. Out of their reach, the false gods have awakened a part of their DNA that forces them to feed on emotional energy. Before they discovered and awakened this trait in them, they had been engaged in war with each other. Then the soul of the planet required the assitance of a righteous hero who will be recruited for sabotage and highjacking missions. In a great battle, all villains and protagonists will physically fight each other to the death. The protagonists win and the hero witnessed their triumph. [Edited by - CyberneticNinja on March 14, 2006 4:15:41 PM]
"The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched. They must be felt within the heart" - Helen Keller
Advertisement
Kind of reminds me of Starcraft and Warcraft, those are RTS games. A TBS would be much easier to program though.