🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Howto clear opengl window

Started by
10 comments, last by nefthy 18 years, 3 months ago
I'm quite new to this, so please be patient;-) I'm modifying the example from lesson 2, what I would like to achieve is clearing the window completely OR _adding_ some more objects to the window when a key is pressed. To determine which key is it I use: if (XLookupKeysym(&event.xkey, 0) == XK_Home) { printf( "HOME's pressed" ); /* Add another object here */ } in main(). In other words, when I press a key (HOME) for instance I want EITHER the window to be cleared and add a figure or just add a figure, leaving the rest as it is. How do I modify the source to do so? Thank you for any help;-)
Advertisement
to clear the screen just call the gl(clear) function simple. For adding the key presses, there is plenty of examples in the tutorials to show you this, no books here at work for any examples at the moment sorry. but look at those for a starting place.
Quote: Original post by inmysights
to clear the screen just call the gl(clear) function simple. For adding the key presses, there is plenty of examples in the tutorials to show you this, no books here at work for any examples at the moment sorry. but look at those for a starting place.

gl(clear)? Sorry but I don't quite know about this...

Presses are ok, no problem with that, I'm trying to do something different - adding an object to an existing scene (with a key press, or after a delay, whatever).

Thank you so far.
Quote: Original post by raMMzes

To clear the screen you can use the glClear function. If you pass in the GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT function, then the screen's color buffer is cleared. So it looks like this: glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);