🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

starting out...

Started by
7 comments, last by Krohm 18 years ago
hey guys, i'm very interested in game programming and while reading Sams Teach Yourself Game Programming in 24 Hours (laugh all ya want, not too bad so far); but I thought some OpenGL lessons on the side might be fun. I thought starting out with the Nehe lessons might be a good idea; keep in mind I'm a total beginner. In Lesson 1, the author says a couple things that raised a red flag for me.. "This tutorial was completely rewritten January 2000" and "NOTE #2: When the first tutorials were written, GLAUX was the way to go. Over time GLAUX lost support. Many of the tutorials on this site still use the old GLAUX code. If your compiler does not support GLAUX or you would rather not use it, download the GLAUX REPLACEMENT CODE from the main page (left menu). " So, this code is 6 years old... is it worth it for me to start out here..? I don't want to learn outdated code esp. as a beginner because unfortunately, I get really frustrated. Is this a good place to start? And can someone link me to the 'GLAUX REPLACEMENT CODE'? I'm trying to find it. p.s. I'll be using MSVS2005... any major issues I can look for? TIA.
Advertisement
Yah, it's still current code for OpenGL. It's just that GLaux was the way to go for loading images, but now it is unsupported (GLaux, the GL code is fine).

Find it here: http://nehe.gamedev.net/ - It's under NeHe Misc., which is 4 headers down of the top (NeHe) of the left menu.

Basically all you do is replace the code:
if (textures[0] = AUX_Load(...)) { // or whatever it was specific to glaux    ...    // gl texture stuff} else    status = FALSE;

with: