Advertisement

Demosthenes

Started by October 28, 2006 02:35 AM
7 comments, last by Axiverse 17 years, 9 months ago
Workshop participation thread for Demosthenes
Introducing myself:

I'm a programmer in a software company whose only client is a broker. Since I was a kid, I always was a computer game and comics fan. Because of this addiction to comic books I started to produce a webcomic, Os Putos (it's written in Portuguese). I did the webcomic both to see if I could do it and because I wanted to learn how to draw better. Before this experience I hadn't draw since High School (in visual arts class) so it resulted in these picasso-style first strips:

Later I produced these, which were better, but not great:

All these strips were hand-drawn, with inking and coloring done digitally.

So, my expectations for this workshop is to learn how to do realistic drawing, which is something I always wanted to do, and I also hope it improves my cartooning.
Advertisement
Ok, first the two objects, a teddy bear and a wooden puzzle. In the first image I just did a quick sketch:

In this image I tried to draw every line with a single stroke:

I took more time in this last one, did some shading too:

The image below is the magazine cover I used for reference:

Below is my drawing of it. I was bored towards the end, so I didn't draw all the ship's occupants, and the lettering of the magazine title is very rushed.

You did a good job, but I think we haven't provided enough guidance for some of you. Shading comes later, period. If you want, you can shade now, but if your drawing doesn't have solid geometry, shading just muddies the picture - it makes it harder to understand the shapes of the objects. And without a sound understanding of how to shade effectively to suggest form, the final result ends up looking flat and somewhat lifeless.