Advertisement

Servant of the Lord

Started by October 28, 2006 02:37 AM
6 comments, last by Oluseyi 17 years, 10 months ago
Workshop participation thread for Servant of the Lord
I have just graduated from Highschool, and am as of yet unemployed. I'm am a newcomer to programming, but I suppose that's a bit irelevant to this workgroup. At 16 years of age, I am quite willing to admit I am completely horrible at art, freehand or digital. Which is rather amusing, becuase everyone else in my family, and I have a huge family, can draw really well.

I normally don't draw much at all, but when I do, I usually just draw maps of worlds I create. I recently started learning art from a book, but haven't gotten far. Hopefully this art group will encourage(I.E. 'force') me to draw more often. Not having any art to show, I drew a tree to guage my art skills. It's not off of a actual tree, just something I drew without a visual guide.

Tree picture - Freehand - Not off a real model

So, as you can see, I've got alot to learn. Hopefully this is where I will be able to learn it.
Oh, and you can call me Jacob or Jake if you like.
Advertisement
Here's the first assignment: I drew my radio and the rolling filecabinet it rests on.

CD player on stand - Drawn off a model

Sorry about the huge sizes, I'll resize them to be smaller next time before uploading. Oh, and I digitally altered the picture slightly, to cut off some extra whitespace, and to make the date and my name clearer, but the picture is unaltered.
I've seen that good perspective is the difference between a good drawing and not so good drawing. I've also experienced that for non natuarally talented people (like me), mastering perspective can be hard and may take lots and lots of pens.
[size="2"]I like the Walrus best.
I would suggest for you the same thing I said for Zerd (you can see my response here). I go better detail into my thinking there, but I'll summarize here as well: