Advertisement

Muse

Started by October 28, 2006 02:38 AM
3 comments, last by Oluseyi 17 years, 10 months ago
Workshop participation thread for Muse
Hello everybody! Below are scans from the last three pages of my sketchbook, which should give a rough idea of where I'm starting from. I have no artistic background, but I've been sketching off-and-on on my own for the last 5 years. In the year 2000 I might have said I had no artistic talent whatsoever, but I have since become convinced that "talent" is just a word other people use to describe a given person's implacable drive to improve himself in a particular domain. Using that definition, I would say I have a very, very modest amount of artistic talent :-)

I'm especially interested in improving my ability to draw good character art, but I'm sure I'll have a lot to learn from all of the lessons we do together.

-david
Advertisement
Well, I had a go at assignment 1. The watch is in the less challenging of two poses I tried, with most of its band under it. I stopped wearing it because the band had partly ripped from the head and the face had lost one of its two buttons. The glasses case seems mostly all there, except somehow when I drew it my brain rearranged it so I was drawing at less of an oblique angle (ie the perspective in the drawing is closer to overhead than it was when I was viewing the model). I seem to do that alot when trying to draw in perspective; my brain must not like foreshortening!

-david