Advertisement

Trapper Zoid

Started by October 28, 2006 02:39 AM
7 comments, last by Oluseyi 17 years, 10 months ago
Workshop participation thread for Trapper Zoid
This is my introductory post, partly to provide a bit of background about my drawing and partly to see if the replies are working!

I'm a software engineer by training but I'm also wanting to learn how to be a better artist, in part to provide better graphics for my games. I'm mainly interested in cartoony or abstract style graphics which fit the style of games I like to make, which I've been practicing recently by scribbling on paper or using vector art in Inkscape. However I'm pretty terrible at realistic drawing so I'd like to work on that as it will make be a better artist in general and I believe it will help even with simple cartoon style art. I'm not entirely sure what this workshop will entail but I'm willing to give it a go as an impetus to get practicing again.
Advertisement
Sorry about the delay on this; I'm an assignment behind. But here's a few examples of some drawing I did prior to this workshop.

As I wrote in my first post, most of I what I draw is cartoon art. Mostly I either draw little cartoons for practice or just for fun, or I draw concept art for game ideas or comics. My usual practice these days is to roughly sketch something to use as a base for an Inkscape vector drawing, so I don't particularly mind errors or rough drawing. Some of these Inkscape images you can see in my journal.

Here's a recent sample of my cartoon draft work. These are samples of the character for "Ice Slider", the game I'm presently working on (click image for larger version):

Sorry it's a bit smudged - I did some post-processing on this image to make it appropriate for importation into Inkscape for use as a drawing guide, and since I already had this one scanned in I didn't want to fish out the original and scan it in again.