🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Making 2d Objects move

Started by
2 comments, last by lc_overlord 17 years, 5 months ago
Hey every1, I am a beginner at this so bare with me. I am trying to make a triangle shoot smaller triangles (as a start for a space invader game) I get the first triangle (the ship) to move right and left, but i cant make the smaller triangles (the missiles) to move up. You shoot with space and all that appears is a little triangle above my first triangle. I think i need something like lifetime and movement, tho i got no idea how. It is not in any of the lessons on how to make 2d objects move only rotate. if (keys[VK_SPACE]) //Shoots with SpaceBar { glTranslatef(0.0f, fireMove, -6.0f) ; glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES) ; glVertex3f(0.0,0.4,0.0) ; glVertex3f(-0.03,0.3,0.0) ; glVertex3f(0.03,0.3,0.0) ; } This is what ive used so it would shoot, and ive tried a fireMove += 0.005f but still no movement on it. i have declared the fireMove at the top the same way i declared the xMove (for making the ship go left and right, wich it does perfectly) If any1 have a solution or an idea on how to do this id appreciate it thanks for taking the time all
Advertisement
I would try keeping track of all the triangles postions and velocities, and render them at that position. Something like this:

class Triangle{public:   void update( float dt )   {      x += dx*dt;      y += dy*dt;   }   void draw( )   {      glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES) ;         glVertex3f( x, y+0.4, 0.0 );         glVertex3f( x-.03, y+0.3, 0.0 );         glVertex3f( x+.03, y+0.3, 0.0 );      glEnd( );   }private:   GLfloat x, y, dx, dy;};

I would have gone in more detail, but I have to go [smile]
You have to update the position of your 'missle' every time your display-function gets called.