Advertisement

Interesting sci-fi tidbit

Started by April 02, 2007 07:50 AM
18 comments, last by hunterb 17 years, 5 months ago
OK, I am a new game developer, obviously, and I have a science fiction story piece to ponder. My game involves the character being trapped on a planetoid which is nearing the point of destruction due to its own gravitational force. The planet (a decade before the story begins) was hit by a meteorite which sheared off a large section of the small planet's outer mantle. The resulting chasm eventually grew, until all that was left of the planet's crust was a small region of land reinforced by the network of now-abandoned cities below the planet's surface. The atmosphere of the planet is being held up by a giant orbiting space station that reinforces the planet's gravity well with a giant network of smaller satellites which compose an electromagnetic web around the planetoid, reinforcing it and holding in the atmosphere. The story begins, however, ten years after the meteorite impact, when the government has all but ran away from the doomed planet, leaving only those criminals and low-lifes who either were unable to afford a ticket off the planet or were attracted to its destabilized government and lack of law enforcement. The player becomes aware that if he is to remain alive, he must find a way off of the planet before it collapses into itself. Well? What do you think?
I'm not expert so this is only my humble opinion but I like it. I always enjoy reading pseudo-science/technology that I "understand" and your quick summary of the planet's situation is just that! Not like that star trek mumbo-jumbo.