🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

HELP!!! compile/build error on windows

Started by
3 comments, last by Jyberwoulf 17 years, 2 months ago
hi guys.. im a newbie in opengl / windows programming and i just found out about nehe productions and their great tutorial.. i tried everything it says but i got this weird error whenever im building the program with c++ v6: c:\program files\microsoft visual studio\vc98\include\wingdi.h(2791) : error C2018: unknown character '0xde' c:\program files\microsoft visual studio\vc98\include\wingdi.h(2800) : error C2061: syntax error : identifier 'sLPARAM' c:\program files\microsoft visual studio\vc98\include\winuser.h(3584) : error C2146: syntax error : missing ';' before identifier 'HWND' c:\program files\microsoft visual studio\vc98\include\winuser.h(3584) : error C2501: 'OINUSERtPI' : missing storage-class or type specifiers c:\program files\microsoft visual studio\vc98\include\winuser.h(3584) : fatal error C1004: unexpected end of file found Error executing cl.exe. win.obj - 5 error(s), 0 warning(s) i noticed that these errors are not of my program but on something else (wingdi.h) how do i fix this problem??? help please... i did the linking of dll's but still nothing is there a conflict if im using win xp sp2 and my compiler is microsoft visual c++ v6?? please help!! (you can reply here or email me at concept_artist_jon@yahoo.com.sg)
Advertisement
That sounds like your VC installation is corrupt. Try uninstalling/reinstalling and see if the problem persists.
VS6 is old and dead. I'd upgrade to the free VS 2005 Express edition then try again.

You could also try the Visual C++ 2003 Toolkit. There is a how-to somewhere showing how to integrate it with the Visual C++ 6.0 IDE.
Thanks for replying guys..