🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

New idea for MMORPG

Started by
19 comments, last by happy2267 16 years, 11 months ago
I have been playing the main MMPORPGs (World of Warcraft, Star Wars Galaxies, and EVE in the past), and I find that while they are a good time killer, they do not offer anything really new that is different from the rest. I feel that I have a new (hopefully it is new) idea for a MMORPG but not sure on how to organize the idea without letting the cat out of the bag and someone else developing it into something. Is there anyone out that that can help me put these ideas on paper and start a basic design document? I am fairly new to game design and not sure of how to start a solid plan of attack. Getting people to do the programming and graphics is not an issue, as from what I see from this site, there are tons around. I just need someone to help with the design concept. Any help would be greatly appriciated.
Advertisement
All you really have to do for a design doc is write EVERYTHING about the game. From the story to the gameplay and even the default controls. But to get help you'll probably want to share some of the idea. I can guarantee you with 99.9% certainty that nobody is going to just run off and make an MMO. They take hundreds of thousands of dollars to produce (well, if you want to compete with the "Big Boys"). So let us hear this great idea. I'm interested in reading it.
Eve doesnt present anything new?

http://www.sloperama.com/advice/specs.htm

The link above is great for some design advice.

If you don't want anyone to steal your idea how about a copyright?
Copyrights are sure fire way to slam it in someone's face when they steal your idea. But they cost 40 bucks per idea.