🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Story by Robert McKee

Started by
2 comments, last by Tim Ingham-Dempster 14 years, 6 months ago
I'm an aspiring writer interested in both screenplays and game writing. In my study of the craft, I have read the book Story by Robert McKee. In my opinion, this is the greatest book ever written on story creation of any kind, although it is for writing screenplays. Have you read this book? How do you feel it translates to game writing? I'm just interested in seeing how other people feel about this.
Less is more
Advertisement
That book is my first choice whenever people ask me to recommend a basic how-to-write book. It may not go too in-depth into any one topic, but it very thoroughly introduces almost all the existing topics in writing theory, making it easy for anyone whose interest is caught by one concept to start researching it in more depth. If I taught a college creative writing course Story would be on my syllabus.

I want to help design a "sandpark" MMO. Optional interactive story with quests and deeply characterized NPCs, plus sandbox elements like player-craftable housing and lots of other crafting. If you are starting a design of this type, please PM me. I also love pet-breeding games.

Everything I know about Robert McKee I learned from the movie Adaptation. I don't know what to make of it. Much of the movie does the opposite of what McKee instructs, to great comic effect.

I guess Adaptation is about creating a story that resolves the protagonists desire vs creating a story that doesn't. Can the latter be as satisfying? Here's a clip: