🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Difficulty of upgrading an existing games graphics

Started by
1 comment, last by DonWon 13 years, 1 month ago
I am trying to upgrade the graphics engine using the source for a small game made around 2003. It uses OpenGL 1.1 I believe. I am not an expert at programming in C++ by any means, but with good advice and a place to start I think I can pull it off. I know I will need to use shaders but honestly that is the only thing I know about this project. I want to add parallax occlusion mapping if possible. Any advice is welcomed (unless your advice is to give up!)

Thanks in advance,
DJ
Advertisement
parallax occlusion mapping is pretty much one of the last things you should concern yourself with right now, sure it's neat, but what you need to begin doing is first geometry rendering or making sure your using VBOs and things like that to make it really fast and solid, secondly you need to focus on the high visibility stuff or what is still going to be visible is you stand really really far away from the monitor (or squint with your eyes really hard).
That usually mean lights, shadows and textures.
Beyond that i can't tell you any specifics without seeing the old game and knowing a little about your graphical ambitions (creating a mock-up of what you want in blender/lightwave/maya/max will help you a lot with that).
But in general for the generic 3d game i would today recommend deferred rendering with depth shadow maps and post process filters (you can skip the deferred part if you only use one or two lights or have very basic lighting).

The most important bit is to take it one step at a time, preferably without breaking the rest
So
1. get the geometry sorted out first
2. figure out how the lights are going to work individually and accumulate them into an FBO