🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

3D Modeling Help

Started by
2 comments, last by Gian-Reto 9 years, 9 months ago

Hey everyone,

I am still pretty new at 3D Modeling. I currently use Blender and have been practicing modeling a body trying with the ultimate goal to make a character with armor. My question would be would it be better to model the armor separate from the body model? Or should I model the armor off of the body? Thanks for the help in advance.

Advertisement
Not a game design question. Moving it to Visual Arts.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

My question would be would it be better to model the armor separate from the body model? Or should I model the armor off of the body? Thanks for the help in advance.

Both is possible and both has advantages/disadvantages.

Here are some hints:

1. Modelling the armor separatly is often more easily modelled.

2. Modelling the armor as part of the body is often much easier to animate (especially if you use blenders auto-weight function).

3. Making exchangeable armor is really hard, unique and needs a good engine-support concept.

4. Small, simple,not flexible armor could often be bound to a single bone (eg. helm), therefor can be easily animated.

If you seek an easy start I would sugguest the following:

1. Always keep animation in mind, nothing is more frustrating to model a super complex object just to encounter terrible artifacts during animation.

2. Use body attached models where the armor is tightly linked to large parts of the body, eg. chest-armor.

3. Use separate models for small armor pieces, which can be easily associated with a single bone.

4. As beginner, avoid exchangeable armor , it is really advanced stuff. Instead use multiple models (changing the whole armor set).

To add to what was already said: