🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I Need Help Starting Out? I'm a Programmer But Not A 2D Artist?

Started by
4 comments, last by Serapth 9 years, 7 months ago

Hello everyone!

Lately I've been using Construct 2.

Now, I want to try and make my own basic game, and then test it on my Moto G (Android).

The problem is, is that I cannot make my own sprites and tilesets. I suck at art. And I have no clue how individual programmers make small, basic games without an artist's help!? What do you guys do? How can I get at least good looking 2D art as sprites and tilesets?

Any reasonably good help is very much appreciated! :D

Thank you!

Advertisement

Lately I've been using Construct 2.

The problem is, is that I cannot make my own sprites and tilesets. I suck at art. And I have no clue how individual programmers make small, basic games without an artist's help!? What do you guys do? How can I get at least good looking 2D art as sprites and tilesets?

Scirra has an asset store from which you can purchase game art; also check out the asset store at the unity3d site.

Firstly, as a solo programmer you can look for free artwork or purchase it instead.

You can find free artwork on sites like OpenGameArt.org, Game-icons.net, and in sets like SpriteLib, Kenney.nl, some of the collections on Lost Garden, etc. Don't forget to check if there are any particular licencing conditions and/or rules you need to follow when using free artwork. The other main issue with free artwork is that it may not always be in an appropriate format and styles from different sources may not necessarily match.