🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Any general tips about the game industry?

Started by
18 comments, last by SeraphLance 9 years, 4 months ago

Hey all,

my name is Dacre i'm currently in my second year studying computer science at the university of Bristol in the UK. I'm a keen programmer, of course, and my main interest is in real time rendering. I'm also a 3d art hobbyist when I need a break from programming!

I realise that the game development industry is super competitive and I've realised that if i'm going to get to where I want to be, I need a plan. This is why i'm posting here today, i'm hoping to gather some information about the industry to ensure I make an effective plan. I have made a few questions below, if you could answer any of these I would greatly appreciate it!

What do you think is more important when applying for a game programming role, a portfolio or a degree? (or is it a must to have both?)
Any ideas what the interview process is like for prospective game programmers?
If you are a game programmer, do you enjoy your job? Was this something you always wanted to do?
Game developers are often said to work upward of 80/90 hours, is this true? anyone experienced this at all?
How hard do you feel it is to find jobs within the game industry at the moment?
What do you think is the best way to stand out to prospective employers?
Work experience (internships) or building a portfolio, which is more important in your opinion?
Any information about the game industry, even if not relevant to the questions i've posted would be awesome!
thank you in advance,
Dacre
Advertisement
Dacre, you should start by reading this forum's FAQs. The link can be found in this forum's main page,
http://www.gamedev.net/forum/101-breaking-into-the-industry/
The link sends you to