🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

PvP, flickering applet, and updating lives Java

Started by
7 comments, last by jim8ean 8 years, 6 months ago

I need some pointers on how to stop this applet from flickering that's driving me mad! I had some trouble setting this up as a JFrame so I continued working on it as an applet (probably my main mistake). I'm relatively new with handling data on and off a server.

Also need some advice on how to approach this simple program, my code feels messy and don't know the proper way to set this up (my book is no help).

I neglected to include any commenting in my java files besides for what I written below.

public class Client extends Applet implements Runnable, KeyListener {

public void init() {
      //Start everything and establish a connection with the server
      // Start this thread
      // Start thread that gets the data back from the server
   }

public void updateCoordinates(int pid, int y2, int bxin, int byin, int lives2, boolean b) {
      // Update new values retrieved from server
      // About to be re-painted
   }

// Where the flickering may ocurr
   public void paint(Graphics g) {
	Graphics2D g2 = (Graphics2D) g;  

for(int i = 0; i < playerLimit; i++) { 
         if(i % 2 == 0) {
            g.drawImage(playerImgLeft, x[i], y[i], 80, 80, null); 
            if(shoot[i]==true)
                bullet = new Ellipse2D.Double(bx[i]+35, by[i]+35, 10, 10);
         }
         if(i % 2 != 0) {
            g.drawImage(playerImgRight, x[i], y[i], 80, 80, null); 
            if(shoot[i]==true)
                bullet = new Ellipse2D.Double(bx[i]+35, by[i]+35, 10, 10);
         }
         g2.fill(bullet);
         g2.draw(bullet);
      }
         // Draw stuff to the screen
   }

private void hits() 
   {