🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Are computer skills necessary for becoming a game designer?

Started by
9 comments, last by Hodgman 8 years, 5 months ago

Hi there,

I'm an aspiring game designer who's currently in their third semester of Interactive Digital Media and Game Design. I've had a try at all of the different areas in designing games, and I feel most comfortable in drawing and planning out concepts for games, like how they work, how the levels are laid out, hud design, etc. I'm not particularly skilled in most computer based areas, like programming and 3D Design and Animation, so I was wondering, can I make it as a game designer by simply drawing up my ideas and sharing them with a team of other designers, programmers, animators, etc?

Advertisement

You should always be able to design game rules outside of the realm of computer games -- such as board games and other kinds of real-world games. That makes you a game designer.

At video game companies, yes it's common for game designers to work with a word processor rather than art/programming. Their job revolves around the above pure game design skills, plus good communication skills so that you can help guide the programmers in implementing the game design. There's often a lot of overlap between a lead game designer role, and a producer / project-manager role. I've often seen lead designers switch over to becoming producers, and producers switching over to become designers :)