🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Online game design degree

Started by
7 comments, last by HexDump 8 years, 4 months ago

Hi!

I'm a developer that has been creating games for more than 15 years. Now, I feel the need to leave the techy side and get into game design. Mainly because I feel not comfortable when I try to come up with good designs for my own games.

I would like to know if there exist any reputable online degree on game design that could help me build up and improve skills in this subject.

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

Don't know if this helps: https://projectfun.digipen.edu/online-programs/

But do you really want to get a degree (needed to apply for jobs, but not so much teaching you skills), or do you want to learn the skills needed (a degree might not be the best way, a bunch of online courses coupled with some practical expierience (a project of your own or done with other people) might give you more for less)?

If you already have a degree, another degree is only really helpful if a) you want to switch to a COMPLETLY different line of work, b) if there is no other way to learn the needed skills than doing a degree, or c) if you apply for jobs that have a certain degree as a prerequisite.

If you just want to learn new skills, there are much cheaper and much better ways to do so. A lot of the stuff you will have to learn for a new degree is a) basic skills you might already have if you worked close to the subject, b) basic math, physics or whatever that you already did for your first degree but doesn't properly transfer, or c) flat out not really well structured.