🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Multiple Winsock2 tcp sockets

Started by
5 comments, last by Sergey Ignatchenko 8 years, 4 months ago

Hello,

I've been utilizing a winsock2 tcp client for the past several months to send messages to my game server. This past week, I implemented a master server to store connection information about my game servers. On my client side, I decided to use another separate winsock2 tcp client socket next to my other socket that I use for sending messages to my game server.

My main question is: Is it okay to use more than one separate socket connected to different IPs & ports in one application? I'm thinking that my IPs & ports are separate, but I'll definitely go make sure to verify that. In regards to both my game server & client application that are being ran on the same machine.

The reason I'm wondering this currently is because I've been getting some really odd behavior that I haven't experienced until just recently. I'm losing packets for some particular reason. My master server socket is sending a heatbeat message every 5 seconds and my game socket is receiving messages constantly. I can't help but wonder if I'm experiencing some sort of interference.

Thanks for the insight.

Advertisement

When you have client sockets (and don't bind() them manually), they got assigned so-called "ephemeral ports", so they will have the same IP, but different ports. So from this point (unless you're doing some crazy stuff) you should be fine.