🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Browser strategy game server architecture (with pics)

Started by
13 comments, last by hplus0603 8 years, 1 month ago

Hey all,

(i am re-posting here, as suggested in my gamedev.stacktrace post:

http://gamedev.stackexchange.com/questions/121237/browser-strategy-game-server-architecture-with-pics)

I have been working as a Java Developer for over 7 years and while studying AngularJS I decided to create a browser strategy game for fun, like Travian/TribalWars/Ikariam etc...

Right now I am thinking about how the server architecture should be. I tried to find some examples on how this kind of games distributed their servers but I couldn't find any useful resource, so I came with my own.

My sketch and authentication flow (follow the numbers from 1 to 9):

2aY9Q.png

In a general way, is that a suitable one?

From my personal developer experience I decided it was a safe idea to split the public front-end from ther auth and game servers.

Do you think there are any Cons in this architecture?

About hosting, which service/host is most suitable for each server?

1) Authentication server, single point

2) Front-End server, distributed over the world

3) Game Servers, each one in its specific country

I am open to new ideas and changes!

Thanks in advance!

Advertisement
Moving to the multiplayer/networking forum, which probably has a better audience to address your needs.

The steps 1 & 2 seems chatty. The worlds online/offline changes rarely. Knowledge of connections should be independent of the login process, not a query every time someone loads a login page.