🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What Makes A Game Look Realistic?

Started by
12 comments, last by wodinoneeye 7 years, 10 months ago

This is a rather general question: what defines the realism in a game? All I can think about are texture quality and higher polygon count. I'm no professional designer, so I'm not sure what goes into a scene that makes it look real(other than the stated examples). I've just recently started 3D programming, thus I won't be making the next Battlefield anytime soon, this question is solely asked for my curiosity.

Note: I'm not asking for code or language-specific examples, just the general variables that differentiate a game that looks unrealistic and a game that looks realistic, such as a lighting system.

(If this has been asked before, please reference the link to the page).

Advertisement
A realistic lightning model helps a ton. Possibly more than texture size and polygon count.

In the real world light bounces and propagates in ways we are still only faking in games. No amount of extra triangles on a Coke machine model or extra texture detail in a wall will add that indirect bounce of red from the Coke machine onto the wall around it.

There's a lot of subtle things in the way light works in the real world that we can't all really notice, but our brains can still tell when it's not quite right in a simulation.

Effort directed towards better approximations of lightning, both via offline and real-time processes, can help quite a bit.

Yup, an accurate lighting system will be huge towards achieving realism. In addition to that you'll want your artists to be experienced with these types of physically based lighting systems so you can't create "impossible" materials or lighting setups.