🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Computer graphics internships

Started by
7 comments, last by matt77hias 7 years, 7 months ago

Hey everyone,

I have a civil engineering degree with a specialization in computer science (i.e. my bachelor consisted of 1,5 years of engineering courses from multiple disciplines, the remaining part of my bachelor and master consisted of only computer science related courses) from a Belgium university. Currently I am pursuing a PhD in computer graphics. Originally, before all of this when I was still in middle school, I wanted to contribute to the development of computer games as a programmer. So in that respect, computer science was a safe educational choice: broad enough to comprise plenty of different career possibilities but still closely related (of course you must make the connections yourself) to all the important aspects of for instance the architecture of a game engine. Furthermore, I got attracted to the specific domain of computer graphics since in my opinion it gives the most satisfactory results. My computer graphics track, however, consisted primarily of physically-accurate ray tracing (as opposed to the graphics pipeline which was never used in practice) which I regret. Don’t get me wrong, writing and extending ray tracers still gives chills upon seeing the rendered images, but somehow especially now during my PhD it feels like I am starting to diverge from my original goal which I always kept in mind during my education.

So I am now looking for a possible computer graphics internship in some game company for several reasons: