🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What Do You Look For In A Designer?

Started by
6 comments, last by Kylotan 7 years, 5 months ago

I'm currently a student and am looking to develop my portfolio to make myself more desirable for design positions for when I graduate later this year. What exactly do you look for in a Designer? What areas do you think are most important and how would you suggest I go about developing them? Any other general advice would be much appreciated.

Advertisement
For the title of game designer, the first thing I'd look for is experience designing games pro-
fessionally. I'd want to see some credits, some game titles. Then I'd look at those games, and
I'd contact people from those projects to inquire about that candidate.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Would you consider professional experience in game design to be only for games fully released to the marketplace or would games developed during Game Jams or through collaborations at University or elsewhere be acceptable. If not, how would you suggest to go about gaining professional experience in game design given that professional experience is already required to work on a game?

Would you consider professional experience in game design to be only for games fully released to the marketplace or would games developed during Game Jams or through collaborations at University or elsewhere be acceptable.

Professional means professional. Class projects and game jam projects are fine for portfolio material, but they are not what I look for when looking to fill a full game designer position.

If not, how would you suggest to go about gaining professional experience in game design given that professional experience is already required to work on a game?