🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What freelance experience reflects best on an individual when transitioning into the industry?

Started by
0 comments, last by Tom Sloper 7 years, 5 months ago

Hello all,

To clarify my question in my topic title, I want to transition from freelance / other work into the game production area over the course of a few years. I am a student now that is satisfied to work on freelance projects using my game design skills that I am learning. I currently live in Colorado Springs, which doesn't supply a lot of game development / production work - actually none, zilch, few and far in-between. Personally, I don't want to put up with a drive to Denver each day or move to Boulder yet, so I am going to focus on projects and get some fundamental skills under my belt through freelance work before breaking into the industry. I am currently focused on being a writer / working in publishing, building my networking relationships, and using my skills in game development to build educational components for children in a small company I am building, launching fully once I graduate.