🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What should I expect from game industry?

Started by
7 comments, last by FonzTech 7 years, 4 months ago

Hi at all! Today, a question came up in my mind.

Currently, I'm a university student at the first year. Everyday I try to balance study and work.

I mainly work as a freelance, but I don't really like to make websites and mobile apps (which are the most frequent requests from my customers). But I like working with Arduino and Raspberry (I think they are more funny to work with, than making the same website / e-commerce / mobile app over and over, and over... and over)

But... It's not what I want, despite being a decent source of earning...

In the free time, I'm putting all the effort I can into my small OpenGL engine.

When I will graduate, I'd like to have at least a fully functional OpenGL, featuring lighting, shadows, ocean simulation (I'm still struggling with it XD) and skeletal animation (and maybe an audio backend, at the end).

I succeded to implement deferred shading. I'm currently working on lighting. I think I will finish this project in time for my graduation thesis (I have almost three years of time XD).

But, the question is: how many chances I have to work in a game company?

AFAIK, OpenGL is getting kind of deprecated (I know, it will still be supported for a loooooong time).

I'd rather finish my project with OpenGL, than spending time learning Vulkan, which I found really hard, expecially because almost no book, nor tutorials were available.

You can't find the amount of OpenGL resources for Vulkan (I'm talking about the API itself, not about shading techniques).

So, another question, but not very important is: Does a game company spend on your education?