🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Non realtime game server (no physics) - event driven servers?

Started by
4 comments, last by detlion1643 7 years, 3 months ago

I'm pretty new to the game side of things. However, I built up a pretty solid generic server/client framework using c#. When I mean generic, I mean very generic. Basically with a few lines of code you can make a server, where all the meat is done via subscribing to the server events (connections, messages, etc, etc)...

That got me thinking of how I might network a game using this idea. I'm more into the casual environment of things like card games. Specially ccg's/tcg's. These types of games are not physics demanding, but still can be networked so users can play against others.

All messages get converted to a byte array upon being sent over the network, be it from client or from server. So I ventured out and created a little test where the client can send "messages" to the server. Let's say we want to login, it might look like this:

client.Send(new GenericMessage("Login", new object[] { "Email", "password" }));

So we can just have clients send their "actions", where the server will do the validation of said "actions" and either do nothing or perform whatever it needs to do. By this theory, when I think of the ccg/tcg idea, we can make "actions" like "DrawCard", "MoveCard", "PlayCard", "Attack", etc...

Clients can send whatever they want whenever they want, as mentioned the validation would be done server side.

The whole reason for this post though, is when I think about it, it might be a complete waste of time, because the server side isn't running a "game loop". The clients would be, as they could be theoretically programmed in any language.

Is there any reason this is a bad design for a non physics, non realtime demanding game?