🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Telling a Story vs. Exposition?

Started by
5 comments, last by Tom Sloper 6 years, 10 months ago

I'm not sure if this will be a blog post later, but I felt like airing it, anyway! Also, I'd love to see this corner of the forums get a little more action :)

I am in the midst of a somewhat ambitious project, because, well, I've found the time and have the ambition. In short, it's a cross-media fictional universe, and it is what I am building my game around. It's about time travel, ghosts, alternate Nazis and a lot of other yummy stuff. But the more I work on it, the more some things occupy my mind (no, not the ghosts, they are behaving nicely. At the moment). The project involves books (I am a somewhat experienced writer), comics (I... uhm... still struggling a bit on that front), audio (already got people wanting to make audio books / audio theater from the source material, yay!), a few other media, and of course, the game.