🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Critique my portfolio

Started by
9 comments, last by zizulot 6 years, 6 months ago

Hey all,

I'm currently in my last year of uni, but after that I'm planning to become a freelance Game Artist/Illustrator. I was wondering if anyone could give me some feedback/thoughts on my portfolio just to get an outsiders perspective on what I'm missing/what I could improve on etc.

Personally I think my main focus should be on adding game assets on my portfolio.

My portfolio: https://www.artstation.com/artist/baukjespirit

My latest painting:

tree_guardian_by_baukjespirit-db8vcq7.pn

Advertisement

Your work is good, the only advice I have for you is to place your top 10 work pieces first, in larger icons than the others.

It's better to have a few well made pieces than to have a large page filled with different quality content.

The animation examples is not of the same quality as your still images, maybe have a separate page for your animations.

i agree with ninja - maybe even throw out like the worst 5 or something. i feel some of the work is clearly better and don't think you benefit from putting anything lesser besides it. also, but this is just taste, i think some of it is a bit too cheesy. i think i'd throw out wolf, glowing blue planet, griphon and maybe witch. but good lookin' stuff you made there, even if not my taste exactly - some sweet strokes in there.

More game assets, like you said. Also, once you get those assets, do some more sub-sectioning (Game assets, characters, landscapes, etc). You have good art, but it's a bit hard to build a consistent story in my mind, since the things that I'm interested in are scattered around.

Very good. It's beautiful. Personaly I would love it just a little bit more colorful.  :D