🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Community VRMMORPSS-CS and a new controller

Started by
0 comments, last by AldoZeroun 7 years ago

Hello and welcome! I'm going to share some ideas I've been working on for a few months.

First off, consider the fact that musicians routinely use all ten fingers for their trade but we as gamers have only been given the capability of using just four. Think about that, 6 of our fingers are not contributing at all to our experience.

Enter the NSTRMNT (pronounced en-struh-ment), a controller design that improves upon the traditional game-pad by adding two analog sticks to its underside, to be used by the middle fingers, and more than doubling the number of buttons available. (When viewing the included image please note that button and stick placements are not entirely accurate to where they would be in application, they are in their general locations only and adjusted so that they do not overlap for easier viewing)

The greater number of buttons allows us to do something new with a controller: map a keyboard layout. This capability would change the way we interact with our games since we would no longer need to slowly type out our messages or be required to buy a keyboard peripheral that ultimately reduces typing to just our thumbs. 
Imagine being in a VR environment, pulling up a screen, and typing out a message without ever having to put down the controller!
(Note also that the Key-mapping is only a preliminary idea, I was trying to be symmetrical and there is probably a layout that is much more efficient like Dvorak is for keyboards)

Now what about the extra analog sticks? Their functionality will be determined by whatever the imagination can come up with in any kind of game but the idea that they were initially conceived for is this: first person combat.