🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Feedback on pixel art for game

Started by
4 comments, last by nihitori 6 years, 9 months ago

I am working on a top down 2d western with a mechanic where death isn't a game over. Instead you enter the spirit realm, pictured in the purple and blue screen shot. While in the spirit realm you need to play to come back to life.

It is still pretty early but I wanted to get some feedback early to refine the style before I make too much artwork. Any feedback would be appreciated.

DessertTest.png

DessertTestSpirit.png

My current game project Platform RPG
Advertisement

Hi, nice pics so far :) !

Take my words with a grain of salt as I'm not a professional artist (only a hobbyst) + some of my changes and suggestions are based on personal preference...

I made a little "draw-over" how I would change some stuff:

• Perspective for buildings and shadows were a bit off, it should be consistent throughout the scene (same for props, doodads, world objects and tiles).
  • The second pic (and world) looks colorful and lively on contrary to it being the land of the dead which I think is fun :) . Going for Mexican imagery? For the real world (being a western) I saturated the world colors a bit. Characters stayed, to make them pop.
  • Added a tiny change to the graves to make them look more real.

You are off to a good start, just throw in some more tile variations in there (more sand, road, building and cliff tiles maybe).

western.png

Blog | Overburdened | KREEP | Memorynth | @blindmessiah777 Magic Item Tech+30% Enhanced GameDev

It has it's own charm and I like the style. Your colors is really good.

The problem is just that I think it will be difficult to sell a game with this art style.