🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Smart glasses with Windows OS

Started by
13 comments, last by Joseph Nguyen 6 years, 2 months ago

Hello everyone,

I'm writing this topic because I can't find a right fit for me. I'm working on a project where AR glasses would be an "extra monitor" and connected to a PC using Windows OS. The AR Glasses would just (for now) mirror the PC monitor or parts of it.

The easiest solution for me would be to start my project with AR glasses that are using a Windows OS. However, all the glasses I could find are using Android OS. I'm not interested by the Hololens, because it is too expensive and too bulky.

Using Google, I found 3 ways to solve my issue but as I'm a noob, I'm writing this topic so that people who are more expert than me can tell me if I understood correctly, and maybe guide me on which path I should choose :

Solution 1 : Someone in the world knows where to find AR glasses with Windows OS on them. Can someone give me a brand name if you think this solution is viable ?
Solution 2 : I misunderstood how AR glasses work, and I could install any OS I want on any Smart Glasses. This article talks about Vuzix m100 android smart glasses that are using windows 10 OS. Is it possible to switch OS on smart glasses ? If yes, I will just buy any smart glasses that would fit my needs.
Solution 3 : I'll just code a piece of software that will bridge the Android OS app with my Windows OS software. This solution seems to involve more work, but maybe a bit of code is already available in open source.

Which solution would you pick if you had to conduct this project, knowing that the PC has to use Windows OS and the AR glasses have to mirror the PC Screen.

Thank you for your help,
Best Regards,
Joseph Nguyen

Advertisement