🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I'm trying to do the art for my next game, please help.

Started by
7 comments, last by HotButtonGames 6 years, 1 month ago

For my next game, I'm trying to create my own art. I'm not an artist and I don't know how to draw but I thought I might as well give it a try. This is supposed to be a barn or a ranch. My intention was to draw something flat with very few details, but I don't like the end result, it doesn't look "professional"( probably because I'm not ) maybe it's the colour palette or maybe the lack of details, I  just can't put my hands on it. 

What do you guys think, and how can I improve upon it?

Screen Shot 2018-05-02 at 10.41.55 AM.png

Advertisement

Just personal thoughts here.  But maybe if there was a difference between the for-ground grass' green and the background hill green.  I think the for-ground grass should maybe be darker.

I agree with Awoken. Try differentiating the layers with color and contrast to give a focus to your level (background vs foreground). 

You can also try adding texture. It will add some visual interest while keeping the simple style that you are going for. Take a look at this example. Its a simple style (maybe too stylistic), but has a clear background and foreground with subtle textures and simple layers of detail.

Best of luck with your game!

You could try adding gradients, for example, things should be darker on the bottom, and brighter on the top. I think it would be a simple way to get a bit more interesting results. Also, overall a bit darker colors.. Though I am not a professional artist, only a hobbist so I could be off. :)

Gradients is the easiest thing for a beginner to work with.