🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Looking for feedback on my space scene

Started by
9 comments, last by GD_Entertainment 5 years, 10 months ago

Hello everyone,

For the past few months I have been working on a tower defense game set in space. The attached screenshot shows the main scene where the action will take place. It features a starscape and a planet in the background, as well as smoke coming from a crater where a meteor hit. Furthermore there are asteroids in the scene which the player will use for resource gathering. I continuously catch myself changing the visual direction and I have come to the conclusion that I simply can't tell what looks good anymore. I am going for a as-low-as-possible-poly art style since I am a programmer by trade and only get around to dabbling in other fields in a few precious hours in the evenings. I would love to hear what others think of the scene in terms of models, colors, lighting, and whatever crosses your mind.

Thanks you very much!

Naamloos.png

Advertisement

The smoke looks like the asteroids, you could make it transparent, or do something cool like shrinking the triangles by particle age (so edges become see-through).

The background is bright. Because of this the constant ambient term is too low. With such an orange background The asteroids should not become entirely black, but should have a dark grey / orange ambient.

I wold use small quads for the stars, so it has a pixel look that suits the low poly look of the geometry... eventually.

... some spaceships with light blue thrusters and energy trails?

I do quite like the low-poly style.

I'd make sure that it still looks diverse enough. For example the crater on the far left looks like a simple extrusion and inset, I'd give it some more uniqueness in shape.