Advertisement

DX12 or Vulkan for hobbyist?

Started by August 09, 2019 11:56 PM
4 comments, last by YAGP 5 years, 1 month ago

Hello everybody!

I'm currently planning on dabbling in low-level GPU programming as a side-project. I have lots of previous experience in OpenGL and DX11, and now want to work with the cutting-edge features (RTX, etc.) that the new GPUs and APIs have to offer, as a hobby. The "problem" I'm having right now is that I can't decide on which API I should use. DX12 or Vulkan? I do all of my development on Windows 10, so the platform independence and Windows 7/8 support of Vulkan is a non-factor for me. Are there any significant advantages that either of the APIs have? Driver stability? Performance? Tooling? Stuff like that ?

Sadly, I don't really have the time to learn both, so I have to decide ?

Thanks!

My two cents.

I have implemented both a DX12 and an Vulkan backend for the engine I am using and I mostly did them both at the same time. First of all, the APIs are surprisingly similar. Implementing a common API on top of them is a lot more straightforward than doing the same for OpenGL and D3D9.

That said, there are differences and if I was to choose I would do Vulkan first. There are certain aspects of Vulkan, eg. render passes, that you might want to keep around in your common API. These are trivial to emulate on D3D12. On the other hand, if you make an API without them and later want to support Vulkan it might be trickier, maybe...

I don't think you can go massively wrong either way but I would start with Vulkan.

Advertisement
2 hours ago, GuyWithBeard said:

There are certain aspects of Vulkan, eg. render passes

D3D12 has them now: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/direct3d12/direct3d-12-render-passes

I haven't used them on D3D12 so I don't know if there are any differences.

Aether3D Game Engine: https://github.com/bioglaze/aether3d

Blog: http://twiren.kapsi.fi/blog.html

Control