🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Judging the scale of a specific game

Started by
0 comments, last by electricstix 4 years, 8 months ago

Hi, this is my first attempt to organize a game project as far as design is concerned. So as a background I am a beginner at this. My question is about how to judge the size of a game in terms of locations in the game as well as predicting the playable length. Also, how to use this information to actually plan the game.

So the specific game I am referring to is a game type. It would be an adventure. A single scene would usually be a background image with animated sprites, where you can explore the scene and click on exits or entries to go to other scenes. Something similar to traditional Sierra style point and click games, but no real plan to have a player character. So more so first person view. There are many Hidden Object Games with this type of playable element. I really like that idea, but hidden object games are more in-tune to the actual puzzle element as a focus. I would stay closer to the story element instead. Kind of an inverse on the same.