Advertisement

Minimum of 66 verts?

Started by November 12, 2019 11:15 PM
56 comments, last by Bozemoto 4 years, 10 months ago

Hi, so I've been experimenting with openGL in my spare time, I'm a mechanics programmer by day.
And I was getting a nullptr access crash in glDrawArrays, I couldn't figure out why as I had other things drawing fine. 
Then I tried increasing the number of triangles my cone code was generating and suddenly it worked.
Is there a minimum buffer size that you need to request when using vbos?
Seems like the minimum that will work on my computer is 66 vertices, with my current code at least.

If anyone has any insight into this I'd appreciate the clarity.

Video Game Programmer.
5 years in industry.

41 minutes ago, Net-Ninja said:

Is there a minimum buffer size that you need to request when using vbos?

Probably not since it would break every beginners first triangle program.

🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂<←The tone posse, ready for action.

Advertisement

Take a minimal triangle example for your platform/environment, add it to you project, make sure it works, then slowly, step-by-step, morph/grow it into what you need it to be (checking at every step to see if it still works; as soon as it breaks, you know where you screwed up).

One can perfectly draw a single point. There is likely something wrong with the vertex array or the parameters of the draw call, but without the code ...

When experimenting, suggestion to do so under a debug context. Here's a practical example with glfw. Scroll dwon to "debug output".

If I generate a big vertex array and then pass a smaller number to the glDrawArrays it also breaks. So must be something to do with that.
I'd assume I should be able to pass a count that is smaller than the size of the buffer.

Green_Barron; thanks, I'll try adding more debug information. Was already calling the glGetError method and that was clean but I'll see if the others will shed some light on this.

Video Game Programmer.
5 years in industry.