🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Best ways to get into the gaming industry

Started by
4 comments, last by texanguy1 4 years, 3 months ago

Hi, I am a sophomore in high school who is really trying to get myself involved into the gaming industry. I've always had a passion for games ever since I was really young and now I've been wondering how to actually make a game. I have no real idea for a pathway to choose from since I don't know which ones out there that would best suit me. I have a big interest in creating unique, immersive atmospheres in games that catch the players attention. I like looking for the visual aspect of making them and want to know how to begin learning how to do that.

If anyone has experience or knows some ways to start I would very much appreciate it if you could comment on this post.

Advertisement

dovuhhh said:
Best ways to get into the game industry?

I have a big interest in creating unique, immersive atmospheres in games that catch the players attention. I like looking for the visual aspect of making them and want to know how to begin learning how to do that.

You need to start working with graphics and animation tools, and take art and programming classes starting next school year, and you should plan on getting a bachelors degree.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Tom,